COLOR-Waatea logo 2016-final

On Air Now
Radio Waatea

07:30pm - 08:00pm
Ed Sheeran

123 Secondary Schools to take over the shores of Lake Tikitapu for the National Waka Ama Championships
Photo image courtesy of Waka Ama NZ

Share to Email
Share to RSS
Share to Print

123 Secondary Schools to take over the shores of Lake Tikitapu for the National Waka Ama Championships
Media Release


More than 1950 students from 123 schools will take to the water next week to battle it out at the 2019 National Secondary School Waka Ama Championship. This year, 200 more students will take part than the previous year. For the first time, over 120 Schools will take part from the Far North to the top of the South Island.

Now in its 18th year, the championships are being held from the 26th - 29th March at Rotorua’s Tikitapu - Blue Lake.

Chief Executive of Waka Ama New Zealand, Lara Collins said the event has grown from strength to strength each year over its 18-year history, with 2019 set to be the biggest and best yet.

“Each year, the Waka Ama participation base keeps growing. Having been at all 18 events since the first one in 2002, I’ve watched the event grow and we now have teachers who were once students paddling, getting their schools involved. It’s awesome to witness such growth! “

“It’s wonderfully unique and exciting for spectators too. Tikitapu - Blue Lake, is usually a serene and tranquil spot, but when the championships descend, it turns into a place of energy and excitement with cheers ringing from the lakeside and the most stunning backdrop anyone could ask for” she said.

Asked why there has been so much growth, Collins says” It is a sport that anyone can take part in, and kids really love it! They get to represent their school through competition, be active and learn teamwork and many other skills both on and off the water. Lots of teams will be products of their local clubs or whānau that take part in the sport. Whether teams are competitive or just taking part to have fun, there is something for everyone! “

For the 9th consecutive year College de Pao Pao who travel from Moorea, Tahiti to compete as an International contingent will attend the event. This year they will bring one U16 Boys team and two U16 Girls teams.

Schools are competing for national honours in one (W1), six (W6) and twelve paddler (W12) teams over distances of 250 and 500 metres. Teams competing in the six person 500m classes will also have to navigate their way through a hairpin turn at the halfway mark.

The Event is hosted by Te Waiariki Purea Trust who have hosted the championships with Waka Ama New Zealand since 2005. The trusts’ CEO Laurie Durand says they always look forward to this event, “The trust is excited and very proud to support the growth of Waka Ama especially for Rangatahi”

This year the event will be a part of the Rotorua Waka Festival with a Kapa Haka Super 6 competition is being held Thursday 28th March at Te Manawa in Central Rotorua for the School Waka Ama teams to take part in. Also the Hoea ki Mokoia event Saturday 30th March have included a secondary school section of a race that sees paddle around iconic Mokoia island from the Rotorua Lake front.


1. Alfriston College

2. Aorere College

3. Aotea College

4. Auckland Girls Grammar School

5. College de PAO PAO (Tahiti)

6. Cullinane College

7. Dargaville High School

8. De La Salle College

9. Epsom Girls Grammar School

10. Fairfield College

11. Francis Douglas Memorial College

12. Fraser High School

13. Gisborne Boys High School

14. Gisborne Girls High School

15. Hamilton Boys High School

16. Hamilton Girls High School

17. Hastings Boys High School

18. Hauraki Plains College

19. Hukarere Girls' College

20. Huntly College

21. James Cook High School

22. John Paul College

23. Kaipara College

24. Kaitaia College

25. Lytton High School

26. Makoura College

27. Mana College

28. Manukura

29. Manurewa High School

30. McAuley High School

31. Middle School West Auckland

32. Motueka High School

33. Mt Albert Grammar School

34. Napier Boys High School

35. Napier Girls High School

36. New Plymouth Girls' High School

37. Nga Taiatea Wharekura

38. Ngaruawahia High School

39. Okaihau College

40. Opononi Area School

41. Otahuhu College

42. Otaki College

43. Papatoetoe High School

44. Pukekohe High School

45. Raglan Area School

46. Rongotai College

47. Rosmini College

48. Rotorua Boys' High School

49. Rotorua Girls' High School

50. Rotorua Lakes High School

51. Ruapehu College

52. Rutherford College

53. Sacred Heart College (Napier)

54. Sacred Heart Girls' College (Ham)

55. Sacred Heart Girls' College (New Plymouth)

56. Solway College

57. St Cuthbert's College

58. St John's College

59. St John's College (Hastings)

60. St Joseph's Maori Girls' College

61. St Mary's College

62. St Mary's College (Akld)

63. St Patrick's College, Silverstream

64. St Patrick's College, Town

65. Tai Wananga

66. Tamatea High School

67. Taradale High School

68. Taupo Nui-a-tia College

69. Tauranga Boys' College

70. Tauranga Girls' College

71. Tawa College

72. Te Aratika Academy

73. Te Aute College

74. Te Kapehu Whetu

75. Te Kauwhata College

76. Te Kopuku High

77. Te Kuiti High School

78. Te Kura a Iwi o Whakatupuranga Rua Mano

79. TKK Maori Hoani Waititi Marae

80. TKK Maori o Horouta Wananga

81. TKK Maori o Kaikohe

82. TKK Maori o Nga Uri a Maui

83. TKK Maori o Ngati Kahungunu o Te Wairoa

84. TKK Maori o Pukemiro

85. TKK Maori o Te Ara Hou

86. TKK Maori o Te Ara Whanui

87. TKK Maori o Te Koutu

88. TKK Maori o Te Orini ki Ngati Awa

89. TKK Maori o Te Rito

90. TKK Maori o te Tonga O Hokianga

91. TKK Maori o Tupoho

92. TKK Maori o Whakarewa I Te Reo ki Tuwharetoa

93. TKK o Hawaiki Hou

94. TKK o Huiarau

95. TKK o Ruamata

96. Te Kura Maori o Porirua

97. Te Kura o Kokohuia

98. Te Kura O Ngati Rongomai

99. Te Kura o Te Whanau a Apanui

100. Te Kura Taumata o Panguru

101. Te Piipiinga Kakano mai i Rangiatea KKM

102. Te Rangi Aniwaniwa

103. Te Wharekura o Maniapoto

104. Te Wharekura o Mauao

105. Te Wharekura O Rakaumangamanga

106. TKKM o Te Waiu o Ngati Porou

107. TKKM o Whangaroa

108. Tolaga Bay Area School Kuranui

109. Trident High School

110. Tuakau College

111. Waiopehu College

112. Wairarapa College

113. Waitara High School

114. Waiuku College

115. Wellington East Girls' College

116. Wellington High School

117. Western Heights High School (Rotorua)

118. Western Springs College

119. Westlake Boys High School

120. Whakatane High School

121. Whanganui City College

122. Whanganui Girls' College

123. Whangarei Girls' High School


Copyright © 2019, UMA Broadcasting Ltd:

flu vaccine campaign
NLC - One More Try - (feat Stanley T) [Official Video]
Dr Rawiri Taonui Covid Maori | Seven Variants in New Zealand and Low Rate of Maori Vaccination
The world has delivered more than 1.15 billion vaccines as countries race to inoculate populations against Covid-19.
OPINION: National's scream of segregation vs my Maori journey as a Pakeha
Martyn 'Bomber' Bradbury: The National Party are attempting to race-bait by describing the Māori Health Authority as 'segregation'.
OPINION: Labour Party radical Health shakeup & Maori Party radical self love campaign
Martyn 'Bomber' Bradbury: The dynamics between the Māori Party and the Labour Māori Caucus are generating political traction on Māori issues in a way not previously seen before.





Enter your email address to receive regular updates from Waatea News.
  • fb

On Air Now
Radio Waatea

07:30pm - 08:00pm